EVICTION PETITION COVER PAGE

e Justice Courts are NOT allowed to give legal advice.
e |t is highly recommended that you consult an attorney.
e Refer to the Texas Property Code
O Chapter 24 for Notices
0 Chapter 92 Residential Evictions (includes RV Parks)
O Chapter 94 for mobile home park evictions

**|f proper procedure is not followed and your case is
dismissed, you will NOT be eligible for a refund.**

*ADDRESS MUST BE POSTED AT RESIDENCE.*




JUDGE DIANE DUPNIK &'3 } 2840 HWY 35, ROOM 125

JUSTICE OF THE PEACE PCT 1 % ROCKPORT, TX 78382
JP1@ARANSASCOUNTY.ORG g PHONE (361)790-0130
ARANSASCOUNTYTX.GOV/]P1 FAX (361)790-5402
CAUSE NO.
§ IN THE JUSTICE COURT
PLAINTIFF §
§
V. § PRECINCT NO. 1
§
§
DEFENDANT § ARANSAS COUNTY, TEXAS

PETITION: EVICTION CASE

COMPLAINT: Plaintiff hereby sues the following Defendant(s)
for eviction of Plaintiff’'s premises (including
storerooms and parking areas) located in the above precinct. The address of the propertyis:

Street Address Unit No. (If any) City State Zip

GROUNDS FOR EVICTION: Plaintiff alleges the following grounds for eviction:
O Unpaid rent. Defendant(s) failed to pay rent for the following time period(s):

. The amount of rent claimed as of the date of
filing is: $ . Plaintiff reserves the right to orally amend the amount
at trial to include rent due from the date of filing through the date oftrial.

O Other lease violations. Defendant(s) breached the terms of the lease (other than
by failing to pay rent) as follows:

O Holdover. Defendant(s) are unlawfully holding over by failing to vacate at the end
of the rental term or renewal of extension period, which was the day of
, 20

NOTICE TO VACATE: Plaintiff has given Defendant(s) a written notice to vacate (according to
Chapter 24.005 of the Texas Property Code) and demand for possession. Such notice was
delivered on the day of , 20 by this method:

SUIT FOR RENT: Plaintiff O does or O does not include a suit for unpaid rent.

ATTORNEY'S FEES: Plaintiff 00 will be or O will not be seeking applicable attorney's fees. The
attorney's name, address, phone and fax numbers are:




JUSTICE OF THE PEACE PCT 1 ROCKPORT, TX 78382
JP1@ARANSASCOUNTY.ORG 4 PHONE (361)790-0130
ARANSASCOUNTYTX.GOV/]P1 FAX (361)790-5402

JUDGE DIANE DUPNIK &'3 } 2840 HWY 35, ROOM 125

IMMEDIATE POSSESSION BOND: If Plaintiff has filed a bond for immediate possession, Plaintiff
requests that: (1) the Court set the amount of the bond; (2) the Court approve the bond; and (3)
proper notices, as required by the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure, are given to Defendant(s).

SERVICE OF CITATION: Service is requested on Defendant(s) by: personal service at home or
work, or by delivery to a person over the age of 16 years at Defendant’s usual place of residence.
If required, Plaintiff requests alternative service as allowed by the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure.
Other home or work addresses where Defendant(s) may be servedare:

Plaintiff knows of no other home or work addresses of Defendant(s) in this county.

RELIEF: Plaintiff requests that Defendant(s) is served with the citation and that Plaintiff is
awarded a judgment against Defendant(s) for: possession of the premises, including removal of
Defendant(s) and Defendant’s possessions from the premises, unpaid rent, if set forth above,
attorney’s fees, court costs, and interest on the above sums at the rate stated in the lease, or if not
so stated, at the statutory rate for judgments.

O I hereby request a jury trial. The fee is $22 and must be paid at least 3 days before trial.

O I hereby consent for the answer and any other motions or pleadings to be sent to my email
address as follows:

Plaintiff’s Printed Name Signature & Print name of Plaintiff or Agent or
Attorney

Defendant’s Information (ifknown):

Date of birth: Address of Plaintiff or Agent or Attorney

Last three digits of Driver License:

Last three digits of Soc. Sec. No.:
Phone No.: City State Zip

Phone & Fax of Plaintiff or Agent or Attorney

SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED before me this day of , 20

CLERK OF THE JUSTICE COURT OR NOTARY



JUDGE DIANE DUPNIK
JUSTICE OF THE PEACE PCT 1 ROCKPORT, TX 78382
JPL@ARANSASCOUNTY.ORG SN, PHONE (361)790-0130
HTTPS://ARANSASCOUNTYTX.GOV/JP1 is cO% FAX (361)790-5402

2840 HWY 35, RM 125

AFFIDAVIT
SEC. 201(b) Service Members Civil Relief Act

Plaintiff/Agent/Attorney, being duly sworn on oath under Penalty of Perjury (fine and/or up to one
year in jail) deposes and says that , defendant(s),

(Check One):

"1 Is not subject to the Service Members Civil Relief Act of 2003 or a dependent of a service member.
1 Is on active military duty and/or is subject to the Service Members Civil Relief Act of 2003.
"1 Defendant has waived his/her rights under the Service Members Civil Relief Act of 2003.

[] Service Member status of defendant is unknown at this time.

“IPlaintiff’s Signature [ Agent’s Signature [] Attorney’s Signature

Print Name

STATE OF TEXAS
COUNTY OF ARANSAS

Subscribed and sworn to, before me on this day of , 20

"1 Clerk of the Court 1 Notary Public


mailto:JP1@ARANSASCOUNTY.ORG

Certificate of Last Known Address

The undersigned certifies that the last known mailing address of the Defendant against
whom judgment is taken in this proceeding:

Defendant's Name:

Defendant's Address:

Plaintiff

Attorney of Record for Plaintiff

Address

This document is required to be filed when a judgment is taken by default so that the Court may notify the defendant of the entry
of the default judgment.

The Service Members Civil Relief Act, 50 U.S.C. App 507 Et Seq, Passed December 19,
2003, requires the plaintiff in any civil proceeding in which the defendant does not make an
appearance to file with the court an affidavit (A) stating whether or not the defendant is in the
military service and showing necessary facts to support the affidavit; or (B) if the plaintiff is
unable to determine whether or not the defendant is in the military service, stating that the
plaintiff is unable to determine whether or not the defendant is in the military service.

PENALTY FOR MAKING OR USING A FALSE AFFIDAVIT: A person who

makes or uses a military status affidavit, or statement, declaration, verification, or
certificate, knowing it to be false, shall be fined as provided in title 18, United States
Code, or imprisoned for not more than one year, or both.

Costs for an attorney ad litem may be assessed against the plaintiff as costs of court
unless otherwise ordered by the court.



FEES FOR FILING CIVIL SUITS-JUSTICE COURT/SMALL CLAIMS
DOCUMENT OR ACTIVITY

Method of payments: money order, cashier check, and credit/debit card ($5.95)

JUSTICE COURT
T Y= =TTV OO $54.00
Citation Service Fee (each person).......ccceveeveecvevennns $125.00

Total fee for Justice Court Suit (one defendant)........ $179.00

Filing FE@ ONLY....oiiiiii et e $54.00

Service Fee (contact Constable of that county and precinct for fees)

CERTIFIED MAIL (small claims only)......cccceeeurenenenee. $15.00
ABSTRACT OF JUDGMENT....ccieictteeee ettt ceecrineees $5.00
WRIT OF EXECUTION (Aransas County)

YN (oY o {1 L =SSO $5.00
WL SEIVICE FO et eeeeeeeereeeeea $160.00
o] =] FSTT TSRO U RO RTOPYPRRRORTRRRTUR $165.00

For all writs executed out of Justice of the Peace Courts, an additional $50.00 per
hour is charged, if the Officer standby exceeds one hour.

As of January 2023



Self-Help Legal Information Packet:
Filing an Eviction Case

Self-Help Legal Information Packets are provided for the benefit of justice
courts and individuals seeking access to justice through the court system. They
do not constitute legal advice, and the court is not responsible for the accuracy
of the information contained in the packet.

© Texas Justice Court Training Center 2019. TICTC is a division of Texas State University,
and an Educational Endeavor of the Justices of the Peace and Constables Association,
funded through a grant from the Court of Criminal Appeals.




What is an Eviction Case?

An eviction case is filed whenever a person or company is trying
to recover possession of real property (like land, a house, or an
apartment building) from someone else. Usually, it is a landlord
filing against a tenant. The person or company filing the case is
called the plaintiff and the person or company they file against
is called the defendant.

Do | Need to File an Eviction Case?

The clerk or judge cannot give you advice on whether or not to
file an eviction case and cannot have a conversation with you
about the facts of your situation.

If you are trying to end the legal right for a person or company to
occupy property that belongs to you, you will need to file an
eviction case.

You need to file an eviction case if:

1) You are trying to remove someone who was renting your
property as their residence;

2) You are trying to remove someone who was renting your
property for a business or other purpose; or

3) You allowed another person to use your property as their
residence, even without a written lease or rent involved.

In order to win an eviction case, you will need to show:

1) The tenant breached their lease (this means they didn’t pay
their rent or did something they were not allowed to do
under the contract, such as have unauthorized pets);




2) The tenant’s lease has run out and they haven’t left (this
could include a month-to-month tenancy that you properly
terminated);

3) The person was a tenant at will (meaning there was no set
time when the lease would be over) and there was no rent
due under the agreement, you gave a proper notice to
vacate, and the person didn’t leave; or

4) The person entered and remains in the property without your
permission (squatter).

You do not need to file an eviction case if:

1) You are excluding someone from your property who was not
renting the property or using it as their residence (such as
an overnight visitor);

2) The person has already permanently vacated the property.
If they have vacated but still owe you back rent, you can file
a Small Claims Case to recover the back rent (see the
information packet on How to File a Small Claims Case for
details).

What Do | Do Before Filing an Eviction Case?

Step 1: Breach of Lease or Notice of Termination of Lease

If the defendant has a written lease agreement or pays you rent,
you cannot just evict them from the property for no reason. If
they have a lease with a set end date, they are entitled to stay in
the property until that date, unless they don’t pay their rent or
violate some other term of the lease.

A termination notice is required if either:

1) the tenant has a written lease that they did not breach, and
that lease does not have a set end date; or




2) they do not have a written lease, but there is an agreement
that they pay you rent.

The termination notice is a written notice telling them the day
that their lease now ends. This notice must be at least one rental
payment period. Most agreements without set end dates are
“month-to-month” agreements, so you would need to give at
least one month’s notice. For example, you could give a
termination notice on January 27™ informing the tenant that the
lease is terminated effective February 28t.

If they breached the lease, or there is no written lease and no
agreement to pay rent, then no termination notice is needed, and
you can proceed to Step 2: Notice to Vacate.

Step 2: Notice to Vacate

You must always deliver a notice to vacate to the defendant
before filing an eviction case. This is a written demand for the
defendant to leave the property within a set period of time. This
period of time is 3 days, unless you agreed in a contract to a
different period of time (or the property was purchased at a tax
sale or you are trying to remove the tenant of a person who was
foreclosed upon).

The notice to vacate may be delivered to the defendant by:

1) Handing it to them personally,
2) Mailing it to the premises, addressed to the defendant, or
3) Posting it on the inside of their front door.

If you cannot post it on the inside of the front door due to a
dangerous animal or deadbolt-type device, or because you fear
personal harm will come to you or any other person, you may post
it on the outside of the front door, in an envelope that has the




tenant’s name, address, and the words “IMPORTANT DOCUMENT”
on it. If you post it on the outside of the front door, you must also
mail it to the tenant the same day.

You cannot file the eviction case until the time period in the
notice to vacate runs out and the tenant fails to vacate the
property. The time period begins on the day the notice is
delivered to the tenant.

You must give a notice to vacate, even if you already gave a
termination notice setting a lease end date. In the example
above, you gave a termination notice on January 27t telling the
tenant the lease will end on February 28™. If the tenant is still
there on March 1%t, you would be required now to give them a
notice to vacate and allow the time period in that notice to run
out before filing an eviction case.

If the person is a squatter, you can give them an oral notice to
vacate the property immediately. If they fail to leave, you can
file an eviction at that time.

Where Do | File an Eviction Case?

Eviction cases must be filed in the in the justice court in the
precinct and county where the property is located. If you file the
case in any other precinct, the court must dismiss your case, and
you do not get a refund of the filing fees.

The court may be able to help you determine the proper precinct
to file in. Other resources you may use include precinct maps or
the elections office. It is ultimately your responsibility to file
your case in the proper location!




How Do | File an Eviction Case?

The first step in filing a case is to file a petition, which is a form
that says who you are suing, why you are suing them, how much
you are suing them for, and provides contact information. An
eviction petition must contain information about what the reason
is for eviction (nonpayment of rent, they stayed past the end of
their lease, etc.), where the property is located, and how and
when you delivered the notice to vacate. If the tenant owes you
rent, you need to put that (and how much they owe you) in the
petition. The court will likely have a petition form that you can
use.

IMPORTANT - If the tenant owes you money other than back rent
(like late fees, unpaid utility bills, or property damage), you
cannot recover that in an eviction case! Do not put these amounts
in your petition. Only back rent, your costs to file the case, and
attorney’s fees (if you have a written lease authorizing attorney’s
fees) may be awarded. If the tenant owes you other money, you
can file a small claims case to try to recover that money. See the
information packet on Filing a Small Claims Case for details.

The petition must name each and every tenant that you are trying
to evict. A tenant is anyone listed on a written lease or any person
who is responsible for paying rent to you.

An eviction petition must be sworn, meaning you sign it in front
of a notary or the clerk or judge, and are swearing under oath
that everything in it is true to the best of your knowledge.

When you file the petition, you will have to pay a filing fee. Also,
the petition and citation (the notice from the court to the
defendant that they have been sued) must be served on
(delivered to) the defendant. You will need to pay an additional
service fee for each tenant for the constable or sheriff serving




the paperwork. You are not allowed to deliver the paperwork
yourself!

If you win your case, you will be awarded the fees that you had
to pay, in addition to the other money you are entitled to recover.

What if | Can’t Afford to File a Case?

Courts must not deny you access to justice simply because you
cannot afford filing fees or service fees. If you are unable to pay
those fees, fill out a Statement of Inability to Afford Payment
of Court Costs form - the court must provide this form for you.

You must swear to the information that you provide on this form
and can face legal consequences if you do not fill it out to the
best of your ability. Fill out the form completely and truthfully!

Do | Need a Lawyer to File a Case?

While you are allowed to have a lawyer in an eviction case, the
rules and procedures are designed to be simple and
straightforward, allowing people to seek justice without needing
to hire a lawyer.

If you do not have a lawyer, the judge may allow you to be
assisted or represented in court by a family member or other
person, such as a property manager.

The court is required to make the Rules of Civil Procedure
available to you at no cost. Rule 510 specifically applies to
Eviction Cases and Rules 500-507 are the rules that generally
apply to justice court.




The court is not allowed to give you advice on whether you should
file a case, who you should file a case against, or what steps you
should take to win your case or collect your judgment.

Questions the court can answer for you are questions like “What
do | need to do to have a jury trial?” or “How many days do | have
to file an appeal?”

Questions the court cannot answer for you are questions like “Is
it a good idea to get a jury for this case?” or “Am | going to win?”’

If, after reviewing these materials and the rules, you still are not
sure what to do, it may be best to consult an attorney.

What Happens After | File an Eviction Case?

The court will generate the citation, which tells the defendant
that they are being sued. The citation then must be served on the
defendant. You can either pay the service fee for the constable
or sheriff to serve the citation or submit a Statement of Inability
showing you cannot afford the fee.

Once the defendant is served with the citation, the court will set
your case for trial, which must be at least 6 days after the
defendant was served.

How Do | Send Paperwork to the Defendant?

Any paperwork such as motions, requests for a hearing, appeals,
etc., must be sent to the defendant as well as to the court. You
can send those papers to the defendant by:

1) delivering it to them in person,
2) mailing it to them using certified or registered mail,




3) using a delivery service such as FedEx or UPS,
4) faxing it to them, or
5) sending it by email if the defendant provided their email
address for document delivery and agreed to email service
in writing.
On the copy you give to the court, you must write down how and
when the paperwork was delivered to the defendant.

What iIf We Reach an Agreement?

If the case goes to trial, usually there will be a “winner” and a
“loser.” resulting in someone being happy and someone being
unhappy. To reduce that risk, parties will often come to a
settlement, or an agreement on how to resolve the case. If you
reach a new agreement with the defendant allowing them to
remain in the property, you will need to file a nonsuit, which is
a request for your case to be dismissed. If the defendant then
breaches that new agreement, you will have to start over from
the beginning with a new notice to vacate and a new case.

Can | Have a Jury Trial?

Yes. Either side in an eviction case may request a jury trial. You
must make a request in writing to the court at least 3 days before
the date set for trial and pay a jury fee of $22.

If no one requests a jury, the trial will be heard by only the judge,
which is called a bench trial.




What if | Need More Time for Trial?

If you need more time for trial or have a conflict with the date
that the trial is scheduled, you can file a motion (request) for
postponement, also called a continuance. You should explain in
writing why you need the postponement. In eviction cases, the
case can’t be postponed for more than 7 days unless both sides
agree in writing.

Do not just decide not to show up on your trial date! That likely
will result in your case being dismissed.

What Happens at the Trial?

Be sure to bring all of your witnesses and documents with you
on your trial date! If the trial is a jury trial, the first step will be
jury selection, which is formally called voir dire.

Next, you will be able to give an opening statement if you wish,
where you explain to the judge and jury what the case is about.

After that, you will call any witnesses you have and ask them
guestions so they can testify, or tell their story, to the judge or
jury. The defendant will also be able to ask your witnesses
guestions. You can also testify yourself and show any evidence
you may have (such as documents, contracts, cancelled checks,
receipts, etc.).

Next, the defendant can present any evidence and call any
witnesses that they may have. You get to ask questions of any
witnesses they call, which is called cross-examination. You may
ask the witnesses questions that relate to the facts of the case,
but must remain calm, polite, and respectful of the court process,
even if you disagree with what the witness says.




Finally, each side can make a final statement, called a closing
argument, where you explain why you think you should win.

After that, the decision will be made by the jury if there is one,
or by the judge if there is no jury. The decision will be announced
in open court, and a written judgment will be made available.

What if the Defendant Doesn’t Appear?

If the defendant doesn’t appear at trial, the information in your
sworn petition will be taken as the truth. If you provided enough
information in your petition, you will be awarded a default
judgment. If you did not, you may need to provide information to
the court about things such as how and when you delivered the
notice to vacate before the court can award you a judgment.

To get a default judgment, you will also need to provide the last
known address of the defendant to the court in writing, as well
as an affidavit stating whether or not the defendant is on active
duty in the U.S. military (or that you do not know if they are),
and how you know that they are or not, or why you do not know
if they are.

You can verify military service at https://scra.dmdc.osd.mil/.

What Happens if | Lose My Eviction Case?

If the judgment is in favor of the defendant, they will be able to
remain in possession of the property. If you wish, you can file an
appeal, which is a request for the county court to hear the
eviction case over again. You can file an appeal within 5 days of
the judgment. The 5 days include weekends and holidays. If the
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https://scra.dmdc.osd.mil/

fifth day is a weekend, holiday, or day the court closes before 5
P.M., you have until the next business day to file your appeal.

To appeal, you will have to file either:

1) An appeal bond (promise from another person, called a
surety, to pay the bond amount to the defendant if you
don’t pursue the appeal) in an amount set by the court;

2) A cash deposit in an amount set by the court, which may
be awarded to the defendant if you don’t pursue the
appeal; or

3) A Statement of Inability to Afford Payment of Court Costs
iIf you cannot afford an appeal bond or cash deposit.

If you appeal with an appeal bond or a cash deposit, you must
send notice of the appeal to the defendant within five days of
filing it with the court.

Once your appeal is filed with the county court, you will be
required to pay the filing fee or file a Statement of Inability to
Afford Payment of Court Costs with the county court.

What Happens if | Win My Eviction Case?

If the judgment is in your favor, the defendant has a right to file
an appeal as described above.

If you get a judgment in an eviction case based on the defendant
not paying rent, and the defendant appeals with an appeal bond
or a Statement of Inability, the defendant will be ordered to pay
one month’s rent to the court. You can then receive that money,
which covers the defendant’s rent for the first month of the
appeal process. This ensures that someone evicted for not paying
rent isn’t able to stay in the property for free during an appeal.
If they do not pay the rent to the court, or if they do not file an
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appeal but do not leave the property, you can get a writ of
possession, which is an order for the defendant to be removed
from the property.

You will have to pay a fee for issuance of the writ, and a fee to
the constable for executing the writ. If a writ is issued, a 24-hour
notice will be posted on the door, and if the property isn’t
vacated in that 24-hour period, the constable will come out and
supervise the removal of the defendant’s property.

If you were awarded money in the judgment, such as for back rent
or attorney’s fees, see the “What Happens if | Win My Small
Claims Case?” section of the information packet on Filing a Small
Claims Case for information on enforcing money judgments.

Resources

Texas Lawyer Referral Service - (800) 252-9690
To check military status - https://scra.dmdc.osd.mil/

Texas Justice Court Training Center information for self-
represented litigants - www.tjctc.org/SRL

Office of Court Administration Self-Represented Litigant Site:
www.txcourts.gov/programs-services/self-help/self-
represented-litigants/

State Bar of Texas Information, including Legal Information and
Low or No-Cost Legal Assistance: www.texasbar.com, and then
click on “For The Public.”

Forms and Information, including for other types of cases
- www.texaslawhelp.org
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