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Small Estate Affidavits 
Aransas County Court at Law 

Texas Estates Code Chapter 205 dealing with Small Estate Affidavits often generates confusion. Banks, insurance 
companies, title companies, and others often tell people to file a Small Estate Affidavit (SEA) without thinking about the 
limited situations in which an SEA can be approved. People then fill out a form without reading the statute and or 
understanding Texas intestacy law. They pay a $362 filing fee and expect approval. But many SEAs are denied for 
problems that can’t be fixed, and the applicants lose their filing fees. Many other SEAs can’t be approved as filed. 

Small Estate Affidavits are not easy! To prepare an SEA the Court can approve, you’ll need to meet all of the 
statutory requirements. The complexity of the Code poses many pitfalls for non-lawyers and lawyers alike. So . . . . 

1. Before filing an SEA, definitely look at the quick lists below. 
2. We also strongly recommend that you review the detailed checklist on pages 2-4 as well as the charts on pages 5-

7 regarding Texas rules for who takes what property when the decedent didn’t have a will (rules for descent and 
distribution). We know this material is dense. A completed SEA can’t be approved unless it meets all of the 
requirements in Chapter 205 of the Texas Estates Code and follows all the rules for descent and distribution in 
Chapter 201. These requirements and rules are complex, and the checklist is designed to answer the questions 
people have when trying to fill out an SEA that can be approved. 

3. Heirs may fill out an SEA without the assistance of an attorney, but an attorney’s advice may prevent wasted 
time and money if a small estate affidavit is not appropriate or may prevent having an SEA denied that could 
have been approved if prepared correctly. 

 When CAN’T you do a Small Estate Affidavit? 
 An SEA can’t be approved if decedent had a will. 
 An SEA can’t be approved if decedent’s total assets were more than $75,000, not including homestead and 

exempt property. See checklist #6 on pages 2-3. 
 An SEA can’t be approved unless the assets are worth more than the debts. See checklist #7-9 on page 3. 

When comparing values, do not consider homestead and exempt property as assets, and do not consider as debts 
any mortgages or debts secured by exempt property. 

 An SEA can’t be approved if the decedent owned real property unless both of the following are true: 
 The real property was decedent’s homestead property, and 
 Everyone who will inherit any interest in the real property was homesteading with decedent on the date of 

decedent’s death. See checklist page 3, second bullet. 
Note that the Court will always check the real property records before approving an SEA. 

 An SEA can’t be approved if you can’t locate an heir or if heirs refuse to sign the SEA (or have someone 
who has legal authority sign for them). 

 An SEA can’t be approved in Aransas County unless decedent was residing in Aransas County on the 
date of death or other facts indicate Aransas County is the appropriate place to file. See checklist page 2, 
#3. 

 An SEA can’t be approved in Aransas County if any of the heirs are minors (under the age of 18). 

What are the most common mistakes people make when filling out an SEA? 
 Mistake: not using the required form. See checklist page 2, #1. 
 Mistake: leaving blanks when the form requires an answer.  The Court can’t approve an SEA if needed 

information is missing. Before getting signatures, carefully check all pages to make sure you’ve answered all 
necessary questions. 

 Mistakes in filling out the chart in Section “I” of the form (see checklist #6 on pages 2-3): 
 Not listing assets with enough detail to identify them. 
 Listing assets with “unknown” value. 
 Not including facts to show why each asset of a married decedent is “separate” or “community” property. 

 Mistakes in filling out the chart in Section “L” of the form (see checklist #13 on pages 3-4 and charts on pages 5-7): 
 Not listing all heirs and not getting the shares right in the heirship chart. 
 Not filling out all required columns in the heirship chart. Always fill out both “separate property” 

columns and also fill out the “community property” column if decedent was married. 
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Aransas County Small Estate Affidavit (SEA) Checklist 
This checklist explains the basics, but the list does not cover everything included in Chapters 201 and 205. 

1. Use the most recent Small Estate Affidavit (SEA) form on the Aransas County Court at Law website. 
The Court requires that applicants use the SEA form that is available on the Court’s website because having 
applicants use that form helps ensure an SEA will include all necessary information,. If needed, include extra 
pages to provide additional information. The SEA must be completed by persons who have actual knowledge 
of all stated facts. 

2. Can’t be filed within 30 days of decedent’s death. Wait long enough to be sure you have all bills. 

3. County where decedent resided. An SEA should be filed in the county where decedent resided if decedent 
had a domicile or fixed place of residence in Texas. If that’s not Aransas County, add facts to support venue 
in Aransas County. Granting an SEA is in the Court’s discretion; it is unusual for the Court to approve an 
SEA for a decedent who did not have a fixed place of residence in Aransas County. 

4. No Will. By statute, an SEA can’t be used when decedent left a will. All distributees must swear that the 
decedent died without a will. If decedent had a will, you will need to use a different probate procedure. 

5. No Administration. An SEA can’t be approved if a petition for appointment of a personal representative is 
pending or has been granted or if it appears that an administration is needed. If there’s any question about 
whether you need an administration, consult with an attorney. 

6. Decedent’s Estate Assets. 
• List everything. The SEA must list all of decedent’s known estate assets – not just some of them. 

Assets are any property owned that has monetary value, including cash or bank accounts, real estate, 
vehicles, and household furnishings. 

• Indicate value. Indicate the value of each asset as precisely as possible, using values at the time the 
affidavit is signed. An SEA can’t be approved with any asset of “unknown value” because it is 
impossible to know if total assets are $75,000 or less, and it might be impossible to know if the 
estate is solvent. With paperless accounts, finding some values can be challenging. If a financial 
institution will not provide a precise value, you might be able to get the institution to provide an 
approximate amount or a range that would be sufficient to allow an SEA to be approved. Estates 
Code Chapter 153 also provides a method by which you can request a Court order to get access to 
account information in appropriate situations. 

• Limited estate. The SEA must show that the total estate assets are $75,000 or less, not including the 
homestead (see next page) and exempt property (see next page). 

• Provide sufficient detail. Describe each asset with enough detail to make it clear exactly what property 
is being transferred by affidavit. For example, give VIN numbers for cars and give the last four digits of 
any account numbers, along with the name of bank or other entity holding the funds. 

• If decedent was married at the date of death, you must also add the following in the “additional 
information” column on the SEA form: 
 State whether each asset was decedent’s community property or decedent’s separate property. See 

definitions on the form. 
 For each asset, give the facts that explain why the asset was community or separate property. For 

real property, indicate the date the real property was acquired, in addition to other facts. 
 For each asset that was community property, indicate in the “additional information” column the 

total value of the asset; you will list the value of decedent’s interest in the “value” column. 
• Exempt property. If decedent is survived by a spouse, minor children, or unmarried adult children who 

lived with decedent, you should consider which assets are “exempt.” If you claim any assets are exempt, 
you must indicate which assets you claim as exempt in the “additional information” column in the chart 
in Section “I” of the SEA form. “Exempt property” is not the easiest concept, and defining which assets 
are “exempt” is beyond the scope of this limited checklist. Exempt assets are those that are exempt from 
forced execution under Chapter 42 of the Texas Property Code and that would be eligible to be set aside 
under Estates Code Section 353.051 if decedent’s estate were being administered. 
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Exempt assets include home furnishings, farm animals, and some other property, as well as decedent’s 
pension benefits and IRAs. Insurance benefits are also exempt. You may need to do some research or 
consult with an attorney regarding which assets are exempt. 

• Real property: homestead to homestead. The only real property that can be transferred by an SEA is 
decedent’s homestead property. Even then, real property can’t be transferred by an SEA unless the real 
property will be inherited only by person(s) homesteading with the decedent at the time decedent died 
– decedent’s surviving spouse and/or minor child(ren) who resided on property with decedent. If this is 
the case, the SEA must include sufficient facts to support the homestead exemption and must also 
include the street address of the property and, if possible, the legal description. 

7. Decedent’s Debts / Liabilities. 
• List everything. The SEA must list all of decedent’s existing debts and other liabilities, including all 

credit card balances, doctor or hospital bills, utility bills, etc. – anything owed by decedent or decedent’s 
estate and not paid off as of the date the SEA will be signed. The SEA must list any attorney’s fees paid 
or to be paid for preparation of the SEA. If attorney’s fees are not listed as an estate liability, whoever 
paid the fees is responsible for those fees; the SEA will not have the estate reimburse that person for 
those fees. If there are no debts or liabilities, indicate “none.” This section can’t be left blank! 

• Provide sufficient detail. Indicate the amount of each liability as precisely as possible, describing the 
debt or other liability with sufficient detail so that it is clear who the creditor is. Also indicate at least the 
last four digits of any known account numbers. 

8. Solvent. The total of estate assets – not including homestead and exempt property – must exceed the total of 
known liabilities (not including debts secured by homestead and exempt property). If they do not, the SEA 
must be denied. Distributees can pay off enough debts so that the assets exceed the remaining liabilities. 

9. Medicaid. The SEA must indicate whether decedent applied for and received Medicaid benefits on or after 
3/1/2005. If so, you must either (1) list as a liability the amount owed to Medicaid or (2) file a Medicaid 
Estate Recovery Program (MERP) certification that decedent’s estate is not subject to a MERP claim or 
(3) include additional information proving that a MERP claim will not be filed. For more information, see 
https://hhs.texas.gov/laws-regulations/legal-information/your-guide-medicaid-estate-recovery-program. 

10. Family history. The SEA must state the facts about decedent’s marital and family history in sufficient detail 
to show both who inherits decedent’s property under Texas law as well as the shares of those heirs under 
Texas law. As long as you fill out the form carefully and completely, Section “K” of the form will lead you 
through the appropriate questions, except for relatively unusual situations. 

11. List all heirs/distributees. After you have filled out Section “K” of the form completely, figure out who the 
heirs are under Texas law and list all of the heirs in Section “L” of the form. 
• To figure out who the heirs are, look at the charts on pages 5-7of this handout, which summarize Texas 

rules regarding descent and distribution based on Texas Estate Code Chapter 201. Decide which of the 
following four charts applies to decedent, and then look at everything included in that chart: 

1. Married Person with Child[ren] or Other Descendants 
2. Married Person with No Child or Descendant 
3. Unmarried Person with Child[ren] or Other Descendants 
4. Unmarried Person with No Child or Descendant 

• If any heir died after the decedent, contact the Court. 
• In Section “L” of the form, list the name, address, phone number, and email address of every 

heir/distributee of decedent’s estate. You must list heirs for every type of property, even if you don’t 
think decedent owned property of a particular type. 

12. Minor heirs. The Aransas County Court at Law will not approve an SEA if any of the heirs is a minor. 

13. List correct inheritance shares. In Section “L” of the Court’s approved SEA form, you must list the shares 
of each distributee in every possible type of property. In every SEA, fill out both “separate property” 
columns, even if you did not list any real property. If decedent was married when he or she died, you must 
also fill out the “community property” column. To figure out shares, see the appropriate chart on pages 5-7 
of this handout. 

  

https://hhs.texas.gov/laws-regulations/legal-information/your-guide-medicaid-estate-recovery-program
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• If decedent was married at the date of death, the SEA must state the shares of each distributee in all 
three types of property: separate personal property, separate real property, and decedent’s share of the 
community property. (The surviving spouse will retain his or her own share of the community 
property.) It is never sufficient to say that there was no separate property or no separate real property. 

• If decedent was single at the date of death, there is no community property. Put “NA” in the 
community property column – but always fill out both separate property columns. 

14. Signed and sworn to by all distributees. 
• If you need more than one signature page, use as many signature pages as needed, but note that every 

signature page must include all the italicized, boxed statements regarding what the distributees are 
swearing or affirming, what the distributees are requesting, and what those who sign the affidavit could 
be liable for. See the italicized paragraphs in the box above the distributees’ signature lines on the 
Court’s SEA form (at the top of page 7 of the pdf version of the form). 

• Every distributee who has legal capacity must sign and swear to the affidavit before a notary. 
• Is there an incapacitated distributee (not the result of being a minor)? If warranted by the facts, the 

guardian of any incapacitated distributee may sign and swear to the affidavit on behalf of the 
incapacitated distributee. The fact that someone is signing and swearing on behalf of someone else must 
be clear from the signature. For an incapacitated distributee, provide letters of guardianship as proof 
that the person signing has authority to do so. 

• Is there a distributee who survived decedent, but who is now deceased? If no personal 
representative has been appointed for a now-deceased heir, you can’t use the Small Estate Affidavit 
probate procedure and must file an Application to Determine Heirship. If a personal representative has 
been appointed, the personal representative can sign on behalf of the now-deceased heir’s estate. In that 
case, the fact that the personal representative is signing on behalf of the estate must be clear from the 
signature. In addition, you must provide Letters Testamentary or Letters of Administration as proof that 
the person signing has authority to do so. 

• Is there a missing heir? If you do not know where to find an heir, you can’t use the Small Estate 
Affidavit probate procedure and must file an Application to Determine Heirship. Note that an applicant 
for determination of heirship must be represented by an attorney. 

15. Sworn to by two disinterested witnesses: Two disinterested witnesses must each sign and swear to the 
affidavit before a notary. These witnesses must be able to swear to all of the facts included in the SEA, not 
only the family history facts. Disinterested witnesses are witnesses who have no interest in decedent’s 
estate and who do not inherit from decedent under the laws of descent and distribution of the State of Texas. 
As noted in the boxed, italicized statement on the SEA form above each disinterest witness’s signature, 
these witnesses – along with the distributees/heirs – are liable for any damage or loss to any person that 
arises from a payment, delivery, transfer, or issuance made in reliance on the affidavit. 

16. Possible hearing. The Court usually does not require a hearing on SEA applications, but in some 
circumstances the Court may require a hearing before an SEA will be approved. If a hearing is needed, the 
Court will contact you to set a hearing. Do not set a hearing unless the Court has asked you to do so. 
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1. Married Person with Child[ren] or Other Descendants 

Texas Descent and Distribution1 
The Legal Effect of Not Having a Will (for decedents dying after 9/1/1993) 

 

A. Decedent’s separate personal property (all that is not real property) (EC § 201.002(b)) 
 
 
 
 

1/3 to surviving 
spouse 
Children take 
2/3 equally 

 
 
 
 
 

B. Decedent’s separate real property (EC § 201.002(b)) 
 
 

Surviving spouse 
gets 1/3 life 
estate 

 
Children take all 
equally, subject 
to surviving 
spouse's 1/3 life 
estate 

 
 
 
 

C. Decedent’s share of community 
property when all surviving children and 
descendants of deceased are also children or 
descendants of surviving spouse. 
(EC § 201.003(b)(2)) 

C. Decedent’s share of community property 
when there are children or other descendants from 
outside of the existing marriage on the date of 
decedent’s death (or if decedent died before September 
1, 1993) (EC § 201.003(c)) 

 
 

All to children, 
 
 

All to surviving 

who take equally 

  

spouse 
 
 
 
 
 
 

. 

Surviving spouse 
takes none, but 
retains own share 

 
 
 

1 The charts in this handout illustrate the general rules of descent and distribution under Texas law. In addition to the statutory references noted 
throughout, see the following Texas Estates Code (EC) provisions, among others: § 201.101, Determination of Per Capita with Representation 
Distribution (fka per stirpes); 
§ 201.051 et seq., Matters Affecting Inheritance (including Adoption [§ 201.054] and Collateral Kindred of Whole and Half Blood [§ 201.057]); 
Advancements, §§ 201.151 & 201.152; and Requirement of Survival by 120 Hours, §§ 121.052 & 121.053 (see also §§ 121.151-121.153). 

All separate real property will be 
owned outright by decedent’s 
child[ren] or other descendants 
when surviving spouse dies. 
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A. Decedent’s separate personal property (all that is not real property) (EC § 201.002(c)(1)) 

 
 
 
 

All to surviving 
spouse 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

B. Decedent’s separate real property (EC § 201.002) 
 

If decedent is survived by 
both mother and father. EC 
§§ 201.001(c) & 201.002(c)(2) & (3). 

 
1/4 to 
father 

 
1/4 to 
mother 

 
1/2 to 
surviving 
spouse 

If decedent is survived (1) by 
mother or father and (2) by 
sibling(s) or their descendants. 
EC §§ 201.001(d)(1) & 201.002(c)(2) & (3). 

 
1/4 to 
surviving 
parent 
1/4 to 
siblings, 
etc. 
1/2 to 
surviving 
spouse 

If decedent is survived by 
mother or father, but is not 
survived by any sibling(s) or 
their descendants. EC 
§§ 201.001(d)(2) & 201.002(c)(2) & (3). 

 
 

1/2 to 
surviving 
parent 
1/2 to 
surviving 
spouse 

If decedent is survived by neither parent, but 
is survived by sibling(s) or their descendants. 
EC §§ 201.001(e) & 201.002(c)(2) & (3). 

 
1/2 to 
siblings, 
etc. 
1/2 to 
surviving 
spouse 

If decedent is survived by no parent, no 
sibling, and no descendant of a sibling. 
EC § 201.002(d). 

 
 
 

All to 
surviving 
spouse 

 
C. Decedent’s share of community property (EC § 201.003(b)(1)) 

 
 
 
 
 

All to surviving 
spouse 

2. Married Person with No Child or Descendant 
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4. Unmarried Person with No Child or Descendant 

 
 
 
 
 
 

All to children, 
who take equally 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

All property passes depending on who survived the decedent:1 
 

If decedent is survived by both mother and 
father. EC § 201.001(c). 

 
 
 
 
 

1/2 of all property 
to father 
1/2 of all property 
to mother 

If decedent is survived (1) by mother or father 
and (2) by sibling(s) or their descendants. 
EC § 201.001(d)(1). 

 
 
 
 

1/2 to siblings or 
to descendants of 
deceased siblings 
1/2 to surviving 
parent 

If decedent is survived by mother or father, but 
is not survived by any sibling(s) or their 
descendants. EC § 201.001(d)(2). 

 
 
 
 
 

All to surviving 
parent 

If decedent is survived by neither parent, but 
 
is survived by sibling(s) or their descendants. 

 
EC § 201.001(e). 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

All to siblings or 
to descendants of 
deceased siblings 

1 If none of the four situations above applies, see EC § 201.001(f)-(h). 

3. Unmarried Person with Child[ren] or Other Descendants (EC § 201.001(b)) 
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CAUSE NO. _________________ 

IN THE ESTATE OF 
 
_____________________________________, 
 
DECEASED 

§ 
§ 
§ 
§ 
§
§ 

 

IN THE COUNTY COURT AT LAW 
 

OF 
 

ARANSAS COUNTY, TEXAS 

Small Estate Affidavit 
 

 On the dates indicated below, all of the Distributees of this estate and two disinterested witnesses 
personally appeared and, on their oath, did swear or affirm to the accuracy of the following facts, pursuant 
to Chapter 205 of the Texas Estates Code: 
 
A. Decedent, ____________________________________________, died on the ________ day of 

_______________________, 20______ in __________________ County, Texas.  A copy of 

Decedent’s death certificate will be filed in this cause number at the time this Affidavit is filed. 

 

B. More than 30 days have elapsed since Decedent’s death. 
 

C. Decedent was a resident of and domiciled in _________________ County, Texas, at the time of 
Decedent’s death.  [If not Aransas County, the affidavit must include facts supporting venue in Aransas County.] 

 

D. Decedent died without a will. 
 

E. No administration is pending or has been granted in Decedent’s estate and none appears necessary. 
 

F. The total value of Decedent’s estate assets on the date of this affidavit, not including homestead and 
exempt property, is $75,000.00 or less. 

 

G. The total value of Decedent’s estate assets, not including homestead and exempt property, exceeds 
the total value of known liabilities. 

 

H. Medicaid – check the accurate box: 

 The Decedent did not apply for and receive Medicaid benefits on or after March 1, 2005. 

OR 

 Decedent did apply for and receive Medicaid benefits on or after March 1, 2005, and the Medicaid 
Estate Recovery Program claim is listed as a liability in section “J” below. 

OR 

 The Decedent did apply for and receive Medicaid benefits on or after March 1, 2005, but there is 
no Medicaid claim against the estate.  [If this box is checked, applicant(s) must either (1) file a 
Medicaid Estate Recovery Program (MERP) certification that decedent’s estate is not subject to 
a MERP claim or (2) include additional information proving that a MERP claim will not be 
filed.] 
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I. All assets of the Decedent’s estate and their values are listed here. 
NOTE: Community property is property acquired during marriage other than by gift or inheritance. 
  Separate property is property owned before marriage or acquired by gift or inheritance during marriage. 

 

Description of Asset(s) 
List each asset with enough detail to identify 
exactly what the asset is.  For example, give 
bank name and last four digits of an account 
number; give life insurance company name; 
give description of car plus VIN number; give 
address & legal description of real property. 

$$ value of 
Decedent’s interest 
on date of affidavit 

For each asset, list the value 
of Decedent’s interest in that 
asset.  An affidavit cannot be 
approved with an asset of 
“unknown” value. 

Additional information 
1.  If decedent was married, indicate: 

 whether each asset was community or separate property, and 
 facts that explain why the asset was community or separate, and 
 total value of each community property asset. 

2.  If decedent was survived by a spouse, minor children, or unmarried adult 
children who lived with decedent, the list of known estate assets must indicate 
which assets applicant claims are exempt.  See checklist for more information. 

Use additional pages as necessary. 

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

(Continue list as necessary.  If list is continued on another page, please note.) 
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J. All liabilities/debts of the Decedent’s estate and their values must be listed here, as of the date the 
affidavit is signed.  The affidavit must list all of Decedent’s existing debts and other liabilities 
including all credit card balances, doctor and hospital bills, utility bills, etc. – everything owed by 
Decedent or Decedent’s estate and not paid off.   

 If none, write “none.”   

 If funeral debts or attorney’s fees and expenses will be paid from estate assets, list them here. 
 

Description of Liabilities / Debts:   List with enough detail to identify the creditor & any account. Balance Due 

  

  

  

  

  

 (Continue list as necessary. If list is continued on another page, please note.) 
 
 

If you did not list attorney’s fees as a liability above but one or more distributees have paid or will pay 

attorney’s fees for this small estate affidavit, indicate the amount of those fees here:  $________________.  

Also indicate who has paid or will pay the fees: _______________________________________________. 

K. The following facts regarding Decedent’s family history show who is entitled to what share of 
Decedent’s estate, to the extent that the assets of Decedent’s estate, exclusive of homestead and 
exempt property, exceed the liabilities of Decedent’s estate.  [Put check marks in the appropriate 
small boxes, and provide additional information as indicated.] 

 

Family History #1:  Marriage. 

 On the date of Decedent’s death, Decedent was a single person. 

OR 

 On the date of Decedent’s death, Decedent was married to __________________________.  

The date they were married: __________________________________. 
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Family History #2:  Children. 

 Decedent had no children by birth or adoption, and Decedent did not take any children into 
Decedent’s home to raise as a child.  (Skip to Family History #4 if you check this box.) 

OR 

 The following children were born to or adopted by Decedent.  List all children, whether or not 
the child is still alive and whether or not parental rights were later terminated.  If parental rights 
were terminated for any child, give details on separate page(s). 

 Child’s name Birth date, if known  Name of child’s other parent 
    

    

    

    

 (Continue list as necessary. If list is continued on another page, please note.) 

 
 

Family History #3:  Children, part 2.  Answer if Decedent had any children. 

 All of Decedent’s children, by birth or adoption, were alive when Decedent died.  (If any child 
died after the Decedent, contact the Court before getting signatures on this form.) 

OR 

 The following of Decedent’s children, by birth or adoption, died before the Decedent’s death 
and were survived by children (or grandchildren or great-grandchildren): 

 
Name of deceased child (followed by 
the name of the deceased child’s 
other parent in parentheses) 

Date child 
died 

Names of all children of the deceased child 
(if any of these children died before Decedent, use a separate page to 
give date of death, plus names & birth dates of all grandchildren) 

    
 
 

    
 
 

 (Continue list as necessary. If list is continued on another page, please note.) 

AND/OR 

 The following of Decedent’s children, by birth or adoption, died before the Decedent’s death 
and were not survived by any children, grandchildren, or great-grandchildren: 

 Name of deceased child Date child died  
    

    

 (Continue list as necessary. If list is continued on another page, please note.) 

 

If Decedent was survived by any children, grandchildren, or great-grandchildren, you do 
not need to answer Family History #4 about Parents or Family History #5 about Sisters 

and Brothers.  You may skip to “L” (following #5). 
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Family History #4:  Parents. 

 The Decedent was survived by both parents, ______________________________ (mother) 
and ______________________________ (father). 

OR 

 Decedent was survived by only one parent, ______________________________.   

Decedent’s other parent, ______________________________, died on ________________. 

OR 

 Both of Decedent’s parents died before Decedent’s death.  

 
 

Family History #5:  Sisters and Brothers. 
The following information about Decedent’s sisters and brothers is not needed if Decedent was 
survived by both parents or by children, grandchildren, or great-grandchildren. 

 The following are all of Decedent’s brothers and sisters who were alive on the date Decedent 
died, including half-brothers and half-sisters who were born to either of Decedent’s parents.  
If none, write “none.”  If any of the following are now deceased, indicate date of death. 

 Name of brother or sister State whether full or half-sibling Birth date 
    

    

    

    

 (Continue list as necessary. If list is continued on another page, please note.) 

AND 

 The following of Decedent’s brothers and sisters (including half-brothers and half-sisters who 
were born to either of Decedent’s parents) died before Decedent’s death.   

If none, write “none.” 

 
Name of deceased brother or 
sister (followed by the date of 
death in parentheses) 

Full or 
half 
sibling? 

Names of all children of deceased brother or 
sister (nephews and nieces of Decedent) that 
were alive on the date Decedent died.  If any 
died before Decedent died, contact the Court.  

Birth dates of nieces 
& nephews 

     

     

     

 (Continue list as necessary. If list is continued on another page, please note.) 
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Family History #6:  Other. 
Fill out a separate page (or pages) if Decedent was survived by none of the following:  spouse, 
child, grandchild, parent, brother, sister, half-brother, half-sister, niece, or nephew.  If Decedent 
was survived by none of the above, list all of the surviving relatives of Decedent on a separate page.  
Specify Decedent’s family history with respect to each of the survivors, giving sufficient detail about 
names, birth dates, death dates, and relationships to explain how each survivor is related to 
Decedent. 

 
 

EVERYONE MUST FILL OUT THE FOLLOWING CHART.  Before filling 
out the chart, see #13 & #15 and pages 6-8 of the Court’s Small Estate Affidavit Checklist. 

L. Based on the family history given in this Affidavit, the following chart lists all of the Decedent’s 
heirs at law, together with their fractional interests in Decedent’s estate: 

For each Distributee, list: 
1. Name 
2. Address 
3. Telephone number 
4. Email address 

Share of separate 
personal property 

(this column MUST 
be filled out) 

Share of separate real 
property 

(this column MUST be 
filled out, even if you do 
not list any real property) 

Share of decedent’s 
community property  

(if decedent was married, 
you must always fill out 

this column) 

 

   

 

   

 

   

 

   

 

   

 

   

(Continue list as necessary. If list is continued on another page, please note.) 
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Affidavits and signatures of all Distributee(s). 
As needed, include other signature pages for additional distributees. 
*** Every signature page for every distributee must include the box below: 

 

We, as Distributees of the Decedent and as indicated by our signatures below, do solemnly swear or 
affirm the following: 
  the foregoing Affidavit was completed by persons who have actual knowledge of the stated facts;  
  all of the facts stated in the foregoing Affidavit are true and complete; and 
  each of us has legal capacity. 

We pray that this Affidavit be filed in the records of the Aransas County Clerk; that the same be approved 
by the Court; and that the Clerk issue certified copies of this Affidavit and the order approving it as 
evidence of Distributees’ right to inherit the property of Decedent as described above.  
 

We understand that Estates Code §205.007(c) provides that “[e]ach person who 
execute[s] [this] affidavit is liable for any damage or loss to any person that arises from 

a payment, delivery, transfer, or issuance made in reliance on the affidavit.” 
 
STATE OF __________________ § 
COUNTY OF ________________ § 
 

I am a Distributee in the Estate of _____________________________________________, Deceased.  I 
swear or affirm that I have personal knowledge of the facts stated in the foregoing Affidavit and that the 
facts contained in the Affidavit are true and complete to the best of my knowledge. 
 
____________________________________               ________________________________ 
Distributee’s printed name Distributee’s signature 
 
SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED before me by ________________________________ [name of Distributee], a 
Distributee, on this the _______ day of _____________________, 20____. 
 
 ____________________________ 
(SEAL) Notary Public, State of _____________ 
 
 
STATE OF __________________ § 
COUNTY OF ________________ § 
 

I am a Distributee in the Estate of _____________________________________________, Deceased.  I 
swear or affirm that I have personal knowledge of the facts stated in the foregoing Affidavit and that the 
facts contained in the Affidavit are true and complete to the best of my knowledge. 
 
____________________________________               ________________________________ 
Distributee’s printed name Distributee’s signature 
 
SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED before me by ________________________________ [name of Distributee], a 
Distributee, on this the _______ day of _____________________, 20____. 
 
 ____________________________ 
(SEAL) Notary Public, State of _____________ 
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Affidavits and signatures of two disinterested witnesses 
 

STATE OF __________________ § 
COUNTY OF ________________ § 
 

I have no interest in the Estate of ________________________________, Deceased, and am not related 
to Decedent under the laws of descent and distribution of the State of Texas.  I swear or affirm that the 
facts contained in this Affidavit regarding family history, assets, and liabilities are true and complete to 
the best of my knowledge. 

I understand that Estates Code §205.007(c) provides that “[e]ach person who execute[s] [this] 
affidavit is liable for any damage or loss to any person that arises from a payment, delivery, 

transfer, or issuance made in reliance on the affidavit.” 
 
 
____________________________________               ________________________________ 
Disinterested Witness’s printed name Disinterested Witness’s signature 
 
 

SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED before me by ________________________________ [name of witness], a 
disinterested witness, on this the _______ day of _____________________, 20____. 
 

 ____________________________ 
(SEAL) Notary Public, State of _____________ 
 
 
 
 

STATE OF __________________ § 
COUNTY OF ________________ § 
 

I have no interest in the Estate of ________________________________, Deceased, and am not related 
to Decedent under the laws of descent and distribution of the State of Texas.  I swear or affirm that the 
facts contained in this Affidavit regarding family history, assets, and liabilities are true and complete to 
the best of my knowledge. 

I understand that Estates Code §205.007(c) provides that “[e]ach person who execute[s] [this] 
affidavit is liable for any damage or loss to any person that arises from a payment, delivery, 

transfer, or issuance made in reliance on the affidavit.” 
 
 

____________________________________               ________________________________ 
Disinterested Witness’s printed name Disinterested Witness’s signature 
 
 
SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED before me by ________________________________ [name of witness], 
disinterested witness, on this the _______ day of _____________________, 20____. 
 

 ____________________________ 
(SEAL) Notary Public, State of _____________ 
 
 



CAUSE NO. _________________ 

IN THE ESTATE OF 
 
_____________________________________, 
 
DECEASED 

§ 
§ 
§ 
§ 
§
§ 

 

IN THE COUNTY COURT AT LAW 
 

OF 
 

ARANSAS COUNTY, TEXAS 

ORDER APPROVING SMALL ESTATE AFFIDAVIT 
 

On this the day, the Court considered the Affidavit of the Distributee of this Estate and the 

Court finds that the above Affidavit complies with the terms and provisions of Section 

205.001 – 205.004, 205.005 – 205-006, and 205.006 of the Texas Estates Code, that this Court has 

jurisdiction and venue, that this Estate qualifies under the provisions of the Texas Estates Code as a 

Small Estate, and that the Affidavit should be approved. 

IT IS ORDERED and DECREED that this Order shall constitute sufficient legal authority to 

all persons having custody of any property or acting as registrar or transfer agent of any evidence of 

interest, property, or right belonging to the Estate, or to any persons purchasing from or otherwise 

dealing with the estate, for payment or transfer, without liability, to the persons described in the 

Affidavit as are entitled to receive the particular asset without administration. The person or persons 

entitled to property as described in the Affidavit shall be entitled to deal with and treat the properties to 

which they are entitled in the same manner as if the record of title thereof was vested in their names. 

It is FURTHER ORDERED and DECREED by the Court that the foregoing Affidavit be and 

the same is hereby APPROVED, and shall forthwith be recorded as an official public record , or the 

Affidavit must be recorded in the Small Estates Records of this County, and the Clerk of this Court 

shall issue certified copies thereof to all persons entitled thereto.  

SIGNED on ____________________________________. 
 
 
 
 

___________________________________________ 
JUDGE PRESIDING 
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