ARANSAS COUNTY HISTORICAL COMMISSION

1919 Hwy. 35 North, PMB #365, Rockport, Texas 78382

On behalf of the Aransas County Historical Commission, I would like to announce our 2009 members. They are: Phil Albin, Commissioner L.B. Casterline, Richard Dias, Linda Garcia, Mary Lou Hood, Carol Keller, Jay Pace, Sally Reynolds, Jackie Shaw, Roberta Sherer, Jim Smarr, Jay Tarkington, Linda Valdez, Pam Wheat-Stranahan, Janie Collier-White, and Asa Yeamans.

Officers elected were: *Chairman*-Linda Valdez, *Vice-Chairman*-Pam Wheat-Stranahan, *Secretary*-Roberta Sherer, and *Treasurer*-Asa Yeamans.

The main focus for the year will be executing the **Visionaries In Preservation Program** co-sponsored by the Commission and the Society. This effort will shape our future historic preservation activities. We are pleased the response has been so well received by the community and look forward to its completion.

We are also working with the society on a Loan Agreement for operating the vault and having professional collection policies and procedures adopted. We are appreciative of this effort to make our vault more beneficial for everyone's use.

We encourage anyone interested in serving on the Commission in the future to let me or the County Judge know of your intentions.

The Commission is meeting quarterly this year, and the next meetings are May 5^{th} , September 2^{nd} , and December 2^{nd} , 2009.

Our Mission Statement is as follows: The purpose of the Commission is to serve as the governing and coordination body for preservation of Aransas County's historic cultural resources consistent with the statewide preservation plan of the Texas Historical Commission, including the protection, recording, interpretation and acquisition of prehistoric and historic structures/sites. The Aransas County Historical Commission will also promote to the public an appreciation of local and state history.

Línda Valdez Chairman